Hertfordshire County Council

Home > Discovering Hemel > Hertfordshire County Council

In Hertfordshire, there are three levels of local government. Hertfordshire County Council, 10 District (or Borough) Councils (including Dacorum Borough Council) and Town and Parish Councils.

As a general overview, Hertfordshire County Council is responsible for children and adult services, education, the environment, transport, sustainable growth, community protection and public health.

District or Borough Councils are responsible for (among other things) licensing, planning, housing, waste management, some contracted services, and environmental health.

Town and Parish Councils are responsible for local issues. Maintenance of some public spaces and buildings, and working with other councils.